Record Review / Uncategorized

Damned Damned Damned

19 thoughts on “Damned Damned Damned

  1. Pingback: Zzzounds! A New Blog | The Future Is Papier MΓ’chΓ©

  2. Ahhhhh…. what an opening!!!!!! I too encountered the ‘Damned’ phenomenon, relatively late [at about 29!], but oh- am I grateful I did! These guys -among other things- have Class. A rare thing… πŸ˜‰
    All the best on your new blog – GREAT idea! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Brilliant! Thanks, David. Glad you liked it. I think it’s my favourite punk album and I love The Damned as a group (in this line-up (with Brian James on guitar and songwriting) and up to Machine Gun Etiquette) – the politics were more in the attitude and the delivery than the lyrics. Just prior to this Captain Sensible and Rat Scabies were cleaners. And Dave Vanian was a grave digger. There’s a biopic due soon…
    Anyway, most important question: will you ever play it again?

    Like

    • I shall play it again, absolutely. It has sent me back to listen to some other early punk stuff…but this record has a sense that it could go anywhere – before too much engrained attitude has set in to the whole scene – which is great. Thanks for suggesting it!

      Like

  4. Excellent record…
    …I have to admit that I got to know them with “Phantasmagoria” – but it got me interested in their back catalogue. So I missed the record as well when it came out. πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Great write up. Me and mates discovered punk bands like the Damned, Pistols, Ramones, Dead Boys, etc in the mid-90s when we were “coming of age”. I guess we thought we were being rebellious; there didn’t seem to be a lot of music around at the time that we felt we could relate to.

    Like

  6. A very nice write up on a fantastic record. I think you’re spot on about the production–that raw pub feel, spontaneous but well practiced and powerful. Great record, thank you for reminding me it’s out there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

